Current Affairs for 8th June 2017: WeAreHimachali

Current Affairs- wearehimachali
Loved it? Share with your friends

Current affairs for the 8th June of 2017

  1. Rohan Bopanna wins French open mixed title

Indian tennis ace Rohan Bopanna and Canadian partner, Gabriela Dabrowski beat their German-Columbian opponents Anna-Lena Groenefeld and Robert Farah in the final to win their maiden french open mixed double titles in Paris, France.


Bhupathi won India’s first Grand Slam title in 1997 and his partner was Japan’s Rika Hiraki to claim the French Open.

2. KG Karmakar, Gauri Shankar appointed as directors of IPPB

K G Karmakar and Gauri Shankar were appointed as Independent Directors of India Post Payments Bank (IPPB) for a period of three years.


-IPPB has launched on January 30th, 2017 in Ranchi and Raipur.
-The Tagline of IPPB is Aapka bank, aapke dwaar.
-IPPB incorporated as a public limited company under the Department of Posts, Govt. of India on 17th August, 2016​​​.

3. Kerala was in news for implementing green protocols for wedding


-Pinarayi Vijayan is the present Chief Minister of Kerala
-P.Sathasivam is the present Governor of Kerala

4. Home minister, Rajnath Singh inaugurated conference on Disaster Management

The conference was organised by the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF),


-R K Pachnanda is the Director General of National Disaster Response Force (NDRF).
-Head Office of NDRF is in New Delhi.

5. Our PM leaves for Kazaksthan to ttend SCO summit

Prime Minister Narender Modi today left for Kazaksthan, where he will attend the summit of Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO).
He will meet some foreign leaders, including Chinese President Xi Jinping.
At the summit in Astana, India and Pakistan will become full members of the grouping, which at present comprises China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan.


Kazakhstan is a Country in Central Asia
-Currency = Kazakhstani tenge
-Capital = Astana
-PM = Bakytzhan Sagintayev

CLICK HERE for the HPAS Sample Test Series 6

6. ‘VATSALYA- Maatri Amrit Kosh’ inaugurated by Health Secretary

Secretary of Health and family welfare, C K Mishra, inaugurated the “Vatsalya-maatri amrit kosh’, a national human milk bank and lactation councelling centre.


-JP Nadda = Union Health Minister of Health and family welfare.
-Rajkumari Amrit Kaur = first Health Minister(post independence)

7. Cabinet approves MoU for export credit of USD 9 Billion between India and Korea

This proposal has been approved by the Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Narender Modi between Export-Import Bank of India (EXIM) and Export-Import Bank of Korea (KEXIM) for export credit of USD 9 Billion for infrastructural development in India and for the supply of goods and services as part of projects in third countries.

It is proposed to sign on 14-15 june during the visit of our Finance Minister, Arun Jaitley to Seoul, The capital of South Korea.


-EXIM bank, commenced in 1982 (under the export-import bank of India act 1981)
-MD of EXIM bank = David Rasquinha

8. 8 June = World Oceans Day

2017 theme, ” Our Oceans, Our Future”

9. Modifications to Kambla bill passed by centre

The Centre has approved the modifications to the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Karnataka Amendment) Bill 2017 to pave way for organizing ‘kambala’ in the coming season, according to PP Chaudhary, Union Minister of State for Law and Justice.
Now, the Bill will be placed before the President for his approval. The approval by the President will help in the smooth conduct of ‘Kambala’ (the traditional slush track buffalo race) in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts of Karnataka. The Bill proposes to exempt ‘kambala’ from the ambit of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1960.


CM of Karnataka = Shri Siddaramaiah
Governor = Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala.


10. Elections for our 15th President on 17th of June

June 28 is the last date for filling nominations and July 1 will be the last date for approval.
The term of President Pranab Mukherjee will come to an end on 24 July 2017. He assumed the office of President in July 2012.


-First President = Dr. Rajender Prasad
-First Female President = Pratibha Patil

Want to share your story with the world? Want to volunteer from your area? Don’t worry, you can always contact us on or drop a WhatsApp message on 9882837038

Facebook Comments

A girl from Theog, Shimla, who loves nature, trekking, travelling, meeting new people, visiting new places, learning new things, reading and helping people.
I believe in education for all and the first female author at We Are Himachali.

Loved it? Share with your friends


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.